Human Development

NEPAD reconfigures to better serve Africa

3 min read
African Union

It all started with the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) on 25th of May 1963 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia with 32 signatory governments. Its mandate was to free African countries from colonial shackles by encouraging political and economic integration among member states, and to eradicate colonialism and neo-colonialism from the African continent. . The OAU achieved its objective and was disbanded on 9 July 2002 by its last chairperson, South African President Thabo Mbeki, and replaced by the African Union (AU).

NEPAD (now rebranded to AUDA) is the development agency of the African Union, coordinating and executing priority regional and continental development projects to promote regional integration towards the accelerated realisation of Agenda 2063 – Africa’s vision and action plan.  AUDA is mandated to strengthen capacity of Member States and regional bodies.

In order to effectively serve the African people, AUDA has targeted 2019 as the year that it popularises #Agenda2063 through #TheAfricaWeWant campaign. Several Africans of note, have joined hands with AUDA to help them champion and increase the promotion and awareness on the African-owned and led continent agenda for transformation.

The current AUDA-NEPAD’s areas of work are:

There are currently just over 40 programmes and projects that the NEPAD Agency is implementing. The NEPAD Agency, now with a footprint in 53 out of the 55 African Union Member States, has adopted a results-based approach and aligned its interventions to the First Ten Year Implementation Plan of Agenda 2063.


As a development agency for the African Union (AU),  a continental union consisting of 55 member states, AUDA has aligned its objectives with those of the AU.

The objectives of the AU are as follows:

  1. To achieve greater unity, cohesion and solidarity between the African countries and African nations.
  2. To defend the sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence of its Member States.
  3. To accelerate the political and social-economic integration of the continent.
  4. To promote and defend African common positions on issues of interest to the continent and its peoples.
  5. To encourage international cooperation, taking due account of the Charter of the United Nations and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
  6. To promote peace, security, and stability on the continent.
  7. To promote democratic principles and institutions, popular participation and good governance.
  8. To promote and protect human and peoples’ rights in accordance with the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights and other relevant human rights instruments.
  9. To establish the necessary conditions which enable the continent to play its rightful role in the global economy and in international negotiations.
  10. To promote sustainable development at the economic, social and cultural levels as well as the integration of African economies.
  11. To promote co-operation in all fields of human activity to raise the living standards of African peoples.
  12. To coordinate and harmonise the policies between the existing and future Regional Economic Communities for the gradual attainment of the objectives of the Union.
  13. To advance the development of the continent by promoting research in all fields, in particular in science and technology.
  14. To work with relevant international partners in the eradication of preventable diseases and the promotion of good health on the continent.

Leave a Reply